International Academy of Astronautics(IAA)



16 August 1960, Stockholm, Sweden, by Theodore Von Karman. Independent non-governmental organization recognized by the United Nations in 1996.


Foster the development of astronautics for peaceful purposes; Recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in space science or technology; Provide a program through which members may contribute to international endeavors; Promote international cooperation in the advancement of aerospace science.


Regular Meeting; Board of Trustees consisting of: President; four Vice-Presidents and twenty-eight Trustees, seven from each Section: Basic Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Life Sciences and Social Sciences. Current President: Dr. Peter Jankowitsch, Austria, Past-President: Dr. Madhavan G. Nair, India, Vice-Presidents: Dr. Francisco Mendieta-Jimenez, Mexico; Prof. Liu Jiyuan, China; Dr. Hiroki Matsuo, Japan; Prof. Anatoly Perminov, Russia, Secretary General: Dr. Jean-Michel Contant, France.


Encourage international scientific cooperation through symposia and meetings in the area of: space sciences, space life sciences, space technology & system development, space systems operations & utilization, space policy, law & economy, space & society, culture & education; Publish cosmic studies dealing with a wide variety of topics including space exploration, space debris, small satellites, space traffic management, natural disaster, climate change, etc.

Cooperation with other Academies:

Establish cooperation with Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (1985), Academy of Finland (1988), Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences (1989), German Academy of Sciences (1990), Kingdom of Netherlands (1990), Academies of Arts, Humanities & Sciences of Canada (1991), Austrian Academy of Sciences (1986, 1993), Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (1994), Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (1995), Academy of Sciences of Turin (1997), Australian Academy of Sciences (1998), Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (1999), Brazilian Academy of Sciences (2000), Academy of Sciences of France (1988, 2001), U.S. Academy of Sciences (1992, 2002), U.S. Academy of Engineering (1992, 2002), U.S. Institute of Medicine (2002), Indian Academy of Sciences (1990, 2007), Academy of Sciences of South Africa (2011), Royal Society of South Africa (2011), Pontifical Academy of Sciences (2012), Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2010, 2012),  Chinese Academy of Sciences (1996, 2013).


Publish the journal of the International Academy of Astronautics ACTA ASTRONAUTICA ranked 7th in the world (5000 pages per year); IAA Yearbook, Dictionaries and CD-ROM in 24 languages (last languages Afrikaner and Swahili); Book Series on small satellite, conference proceedings, remote sensing and history. All publications available at


Active members 1199 in 86 countries in four Trustee Sections; Honorary members (2)

  • Africa: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Libya,  Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia.

  • Americas: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico,  Peru, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela.

  • Asia: Bahrain, Burma, China, India, Indonesia, Irak, Iran, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea,  Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Malaysia, Mongolia, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Vietnam.

  • Europe: Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep., Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain,  Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Ukraine.

  • Oceania: Australia, New Zealand.